Nat Voisey

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Tina Fey mentions in her book that no one knows what she does.

I had no idea she wrote Mean Girls or created the show 30 Rock. I also forgot (or didn’t know because I’m young,) that she was a head writer on SNL and a host on Weekend Update.1

Tina Fey is incredible!

I also read Colin Jost’s book recently where he talks about being a head writer and Update host which is remarkably similar to Tina Fey’s, except he’s a Harvard Nerd and Tina Fey is a Chicago Improviser.

I enjoyed her stories about pushing through men’s decisions:

I’m learning about this at the moment.

The first rule of improv is ‘yes, and’. To keep the ideas moving you have to agree with your partner and add something.

As an improviser, I always find it jarring when I meet someone in real life whose first answer is no. "No, we can't do that." "No, that's not in the budget." "No, I will not hold your hand for a dollar." What kind of way is that to live?

P.105

Advice on “Me Time” when you’re a mom:

“Sleep when your baby sleeps.” Everyone knows this classic tip, but I say why stop there? Scream when your baby screams. Take Benadryl when your baby takes Benadryl. And walk around pantless when your baby walls around pantless.

P.303

Things Tina Fey learned from Lorne Michaels

  1. People who work at SNL have crazy schedules.

#books #interested